7 (Training) Squadron AFC

By 1917 the Australian Flying Corps (AFC) consisted of four operational squadrons which outstripped the ability of the Army’s Central Flying School at Point Cook to supply sufficient trained airmen. It was decided, therefore, to establish training squadrons within the AFC. Four such squadrons were subsequently established in the United Kingdom during 1917.

7 Squadron AFC was formed at Yatesbury on 24 October 1917. It was originally identified as 32 (Australian Training) Squadron, Royal Flying Corps, but was renamed, along with all of the Australian squadrons, in January 1918. The squadron relocated to Leighterton on 23 February 1917, where it remained until disbanded in March 1919.

The squadron’s principal role was to prepare personnel for service with what was at first 69 (Australian) Squadron, RFC, and subsequently 3 Squadron, AFC, which was operating with British forces over the Western Front. The squadron operated a variety of aircraft types throughout its history and these are listed below.

Colour Patch

Colour patch for 7 (Training) Squadron AFC




  • Individual casualty figures for the AFC training squadrons are not available. In total, 51 AFC personnel died in accidents, and 20 as a result of disease, in the United Kingdom.

For more information please see the Roll of Honour, Wounded and Missing, First World War Nominal Roll and Embarkation Roll databases.

Commanding Officers


  • Nil

For more information please see Honours and Awards database

Collection Items

Search for related collection items