A campaign honour awarded for participation in the operations that resulted in the capture of the Japanese base at Lae in New Guinea. The honour includes the amphibious landings of the 9th Australian Division east of Lae on 4 September, the airborne landings of the 7th Division at Nadzab, west of Lae, between 7-9 and 12 September, and their simultaneous advance on Lae, which fell on 16 September.