Napier Waller Art Prize for veteran artists opens from 29 April 2019

14 March 2019

The Australian War Memorial, the University of Canberra, The Road Home, Thales Australia and the Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, the Hon. Darren Chester MP encourage current and former Australian Defence Force personnel to enter the 2019 Napier Waller Art Prize, open from 29 April.

The prize program, initiated in 2018, is the only one offered to former and current Defence personnel at a national level. It aims to promote artistic excellence and nurture the healing potential of art, while raising a broader awareness of the military experience and the impact of service on the individual.

The winner will receive a $10,000 cash prize, and their entry will be displayed at the Australian War Memorial and accessioned into the National Collection. The winning artist will also receive a two-week research residency in the Art Section of the Memorial, and a mentoring day with former official war artist eX de Medici.

A prize of $5,000 will be awarded to the entry that wins People’s Choice.

Director of the Australian War Memorial Dr Brendan Nelson said the inaugural prize in 2018, won by Rob Douma with his moving charcoal work Green on blue: the betrayal of trust, was an outstanding success.  

“Each of the short-listed artists in 2018 expressed to us how much it meant to them to be able to tell their own stories through art, and to showcase them here at the Australian War Memorial,” Dr Nelson said.

“It also enables visitors to our galleries to interpret their work and understand more about the experiences of our service personnel. I urge all creative Australian servicemen and servicewomen, current and former serving, to consider entering the Napier Waller Art Prize.” 

Entries open on 29 April 2019 and close on 10 June 2019. Entrants can submit any visual art medium including but not limited to: painting, photography, printmaking, drawing, sculpture, digital, decorative, and installation.

The judging panel will include Memorial Director Dr Brendan Nelson, Chairman of the Council of the Australian War Memorial Mr Kerry Stokes AC, Ms Christine Simpson Stokes, Chief of the Defence Force General Angus Campbell AO DSC, former official war artist eX de Medici, Director of the National Gallery of Australia Mr Nick Mitzevich, Australian War Memorial Head of Art Ms Laura Webster, and representatives from the University of Canberra, The Road Home, and Thales Australia.

An exhibition of the highly commended entries, generously sponsored by The Road Home, will be displayed in Anzac Hall’s mezzanine area from 20 September 2019 until 1 December 2019.

Please visit the Memorial’s website for more information and for terms and conditions of entry.

CONTACT:     Greg Kimball    02 6263 6628             0402 800 649