Published: Fri 31 May 2013

Wet weather update: The Bomber Command Commemorative Ceremony will continue as planned, but will be relocated to the Commemorative Area of the Memorial.


Media are invited to a wreathlaying commemorating the service and sacrifice of the RAAF air and ground crew who served and died with Bomber Command during the Second World War.

The sixth annual Bomber Command Commemorative Ceremony at the Memorial commemorates the more than 10,000 Australian who went to Britain to serve as aircrew, scattered throughout RAAF and RAF squadrons in Bomber Command.

The welcome for the ceremony will be delivered by the Memorial’s Director, Dr Brendan Nelson, Air Commodore Geoff Michael AO OBE AFC (Ret’d) will be delivering the introduction, whilst the commemorative address will be provided by Air Chief Marshal Angus Houston AC AFC (Ret’d). 



Senator the Hon, David Feeney MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Defence, representing the Minister for Veterans’ Affairs (laying a wreath)

Senator the Hon, Gary Humphries MP, representing the Shadow Minister for Veterans’ Affairs (laying a wreath)

Air Commodore Geoff Michael AO OBE AFC (Ret’d), President of Honour, Australian Flying Corps and Royal Australian Air Force Association (laying a wreath)

Flying Officer Ross Pearson OAM (Ret’d), President, Bomber Command Annual Commemorative Day Foundation (laying a wreath)

Dr Brendan Nelson, Director of the Australian War Memorial (welcome address)

Rear Admiral Ken Doolan AO RAN (Ret’d), Chairman of the Council of the Australian War Memorial, and National President, Returned Services League of Australia (laying a wreath)



11.00 am – 11.45 am, Sunday 2 June 2013



Bomber Command Memorial, Sculpture Garden, Australian War Memorial


In case of wet weather, the ceremony will be held within the Memorial. Contact Moj Nozhat for details.



Moj Nozhat                  0409 600 038