More than Bombs and Bandages

Kirsty Harris SHOP:9780980814057

Australian Army nurses at work in World War One.

More than Bombs and Bandages offers an intriguing, and gut wrenching insight into the work of the Australian Army Nursing Service (AANS) during the First World War. Accomplished historian Kirsty Harris exposes the false assumption that military nurses only nursed. Her writing is far removed from the ‘devotion to duty’ stereotyping, and instead provides interesting and fresh perspectives on topics including the key differences between civilian and military nursing, working with other allied nursing services, and the impact of war wounds and war-based diseases on nursing work.

Hard cover, photographs, 344 pages.

Related Items

  1. Kitty's War

    Kitty’s War is based upon the previously unpublished war diaries of First World War army nurse Sister Kit McNaughton. This decisive and dryly h...

  2. War Girls

    A moving collection of the untold stories of woman in the First World War, from nine much loved authors. 1914: war has broken out across Europe and b...

  3. The Daughters of Mars

    In the tradition of Atonement and Birdsong, the Durance sisters leave Australia to nurse on the front during the First World War and discover a world ...