Royal Flying Corps

Formed in May 1912 as the air arm of the British Army, the Royal Flying Corps initially comprised of a naval training wing and a military training wing. When war broke out in 1914 RFC strength amounted to four operational squadrons (63 aircraft); responsibility for operating airships was taken by the re-organised naval wing, designated as the Royal Naval Air Service., The Royal Air Force (RAF) was formed on 1 April 1918, amalgamating the RFC and the RNAS. By the end of the war it had grown to a force of 300,000 personnel, 201 squadrons and 22,000 aircraft.