Group portrait of aircrew members of 15 Squadron RAAF in front of a Beaufort aircraft at ...

Accession Number P04021.001
Collection type Photograph
Object type Black & white - Print silver gelatin
Maker Unknown
Date made 2 September 1945
Conflict Second World War, 1939-1945

Item copyright: Copyright expired - public domain

Public Domain Mark This item is in the Public Domain


Group portrait of aircrew members of 15 Squadron RAAF in front of a Beaufort aircraft at Middleberg Island. The photograph was taken on the day of the official Japanese surrender aboard the USS Missouri in Tokyo Bay. 15 Squadron withdrew from the island on 30 September 1945. Identified from left to right, back row: John Baxter; Dave Simons; George Watson; Cliff Mason; George Holcroft; 431109 Warrant Officer (WO) Ronald Maxwell 'Max' Neumann; 12282 WO Colin Leonard Eatough; Buster Brown; Don Taylor; 'Whizzer' Wise; Mick Shaw; Jeff Goldsworthy; Ben Kippen; Bob Callender; Tim Tyler; 416427 Pilot Officer (PO) Charles Harry Hender; 'Omie'/'Ossie' Osborne; Charlie Lane. Third row: Ken Nixon; 411233 Flying Officer (FO) Joseph Henry Siddall; 'Sol' Neiderer; Les Rawley; Frank Hamwood; Peter Mumford; 431633 WO Charles Francis Mann; Arthur Howes; Dave Archibald; Doug Turner; Les Hellyer; Don Mogg; 412947 WO Walter Garth 'Wally' Gransden; Ken Thomson; Ian Saw; Leo Reid; 416502 WO Eric Colin Koithan; Frank Ireland; Rod Denshire. Second row: 'Sol' Butler; Ted Sage; John Crawford; Russ Clarke; Alf Holman; Bill Dedman; 435892 Flight Sergeant (Flt Sgt) Keith Merlin Wallin; Charlie Amos; Jack Cassidy; Wal Brooks; Andy Anderson; Ces Miles; George Ashby; Sam Currie; 'Happy' Ducrou (possibly 423680 WO Harold Duvernay Ducrou); 422958 Flight Lieutenant (Flt Lt) George Spencer Jeffress; 129313 Leading Aircraftman (LAC) Percy Arthur Hillier; Eddie Denton; 'Heck'/'Hock' Duncan (possibly 61209 Flt Sgt Hector Lang Duncan). Front row: Allan Woodward; 'Darky' Wishart; Col Hobson; Jack Woolhouse; Ted Gilchrist; Bob Neville; 409054 Flt Lt Joe Hutchieson; Jeff Ross; Harry Silcock; 260189 Group Captain Tony Primrose, Commanding Officer; O16023 (400107) Flt Lt John Wilton 'Jock' Tuckfield; Rusty Kennard; Johnny Walker; John Clune; Charlie Nee; 427572 WO Mervyn John Veitch; Allan Holcombe; Tom Jenner; 'Scotty' McIvor.