Officers of the 19th Battalion in France. Identified in the back row from left to right: ...

Accession Number H13938
Collection type Photograph
Object type Black & white - Print silver gelatin
Place made France
Conflict First World War, 1914-1918

Item copyright: Copyright expired - public domain

Public Domain Mark This item is in the Public Domain


Officers of the 19th Battalion in France. Identified in the back row from left to right: Lieutenant (Lt) John Gray (later awarded Military Cross (MC)); Lt Edmund Belcher (later awarded MC); Second Lieutenant Cyril Leggatt Sell (later awarded MC and Bar and died on 7 October 1918 of wounds received in France); unidentified; Lt Leonard Stanley Jones; Lt Charles Albert Read (later killed in action on 22 December 1917 in Belgium); Lt Hunter Wharton Kirke (later awarded MC); Lt Leslie Hugh Bignell (later killed in action on 7 April 1918 in France); Lt Percy Valentine Storkey (later awarded Victoria Cross (VC)); and Lt Mario Lemmers Peryman.
Second row from left to right: Lt Ambrose John Charker; unidentified; Lt Leslie Layton-Smith (later awarded MC); unidentified; unidentified; unidentified; Lt Sydney George Nicholl (later Captain (Capt)); and Lt Ernest Marcel Brand.
Third row from left to right; Chaplain (Padre) Francis Clune; Lt William Hartland Cullen; unidentified; unidentified; Colonel Cecil Robert Arthur Pye, Commanding Officer (later killed in action in Belgium on 4 October 1917); Lt Harold Burfield Taylor (later Capt and awarded MC); unidentified; unidentified; and Lt William James Kilpatrick.
Front row from left to right: the first five are unidentified; Lt Lionel Harford Bartlett; Lt Evan Thomas Segal; and unidentified.
Possibly included in the image but positions unknown: Second Lieutenant (2nd Lt) Francis Reginald Bennett (later killed in action on 15 October 1917 in Belgium); Lt Frank Arthur Boyden (later a Major); Lt Leslie Waldron Blake (later Captain and awarded MC); Lt Edwin Lewis Hall (later awarded MC) Lt Alfred Charles Bird; Captain James Stuart Douglas; Lt Edward Napier Armit (later awarded MC); Lt James John McDonald; Capt Sydney George Nicoll; 2nd Lt Reginald John Hunter (later died of wounds on 5 June 1918 in France); Lt Frederick Neville Lipscomb (later awarded MC); Capt Henry Parker McMeekin (later awarded MC); Lt Claude Carl Nielsen; and Capt Ernest Leslie Morgan (Medical Officer).