Group portrait of the officers of the 11th Brigade of Australian Field Artillery in the rest area ...

Accession Number E02503
Collection type Photograph
Object type Black & white - Glass original whole plate negative
Maker Unknown Australian Official Photographer
Place made France
Date made 14 June 1918
Conflict First World War, 1914-1918

Item copyright: Copyright expired - public domain

Public Domain Mark This item is in the Public Domain


Group portrait of the officers of the 11th Brigade of Australian Field Artillery in the rest area at Epagne, France. Identified from left to right, back row: Lieutenant (Lt) Albert Arthur Orchard MC from Launceston, Tasmania; Lt Roy Lewis Mirls from Brisbane, Queensland; Lt Leslie Ernest Bott from Singleton, NSW; Lt Vivian Charles Williams MC from Nimbin, NSW; Lt George McDonald; Lt Norman Quail MC from Geelong West, Victoria; Lt Norman Charles Medland Crozier from Albert Park, Victoria; Lt William Olliffe Pasfield from Newcastle, NSW; Lt Thomas Hester from Unley, South Australia; and Lt James McKinley MM, Signal Officer from West Guildford, Western Australia.
Middle row: Lt Charles Evedon Jenour from Evedon, Lincolnshire, UK; Captain (Capt) Kenneth Claud Purnell MC, Medical Officer from Geelong, Victoria; Lt Thomas Peter Clark MC from Clarence Town, NSW; Lt Clarence John Peek from Kensington, South Australia; Chaplain Garnet Eric Shaw, Chaplain to the Forces (CF) from Armadale, Victoria; Capt William Lauchlan Sanderson OBE MC Croix de Guerre (France) from Claremont, Western Australia; Major (Maj) Douglas Oswald Luke Kitto MC from Launceston; Maj Edward Kenneth Smart MC, DSO from Armadale, Victoria; Lt Hector John Simper from Adelaide, South Australia; Lt George Randolph Collins from Launceston; Lt Henry John Keightley from Brisbane; and Interpreter G. Truffant.
Front row: Lt William Wemyss Rose MC, Adjutant from Armadale, Victoria; Maj Cyril Thomas McKenna, Veterinary Officer from Ascot Vale, Victoria; Maj Sydney Francis Hodgens DSO from Brisbane; Maj Percy John Ross MC from Toowoomba, Queensland; Maj Percy Malcolm Edwards DSO, Acting Commanding Officer from Perth, Western Australia; Maj Clarence Roy Turner from Forestville, South Australia; Maj William Ellis Cox MC from Launceston; and Chaplain Alexander Stevenson MacEwan (President), CF, Chaplain Department.