Group portrait of the officers and NCOs of the 23rd Machine Gun Company at Locre, Belgium. ...

Accession Number E01626
Collection type Photograph
Object type Black & white - Glass original whole plate negative
Maker Unknown Australian Official Photographer
Place made Belgium: Flanders, West-Vlaanderen, Heuvelland, Locre
Date made 26 January 1918
Conflict First World War, 1914-1918

Item copyright: Copyright expired - public domain

Public Domain Mark This item is in the Public Domain


Group portrait of the officers and NCOs of the 23rd Machine Gun Company at Locre, Belgium. Identified back row from left to right: 40 Lance Corporal (L Cpl) Thomas Copland from Newport, Victoria (killed in action in France on 8 June 1918); 5930 L Cpl William Rainnie Wilson from Roma, Queensland; 3072 L Cpl William John Dawson from Gympie, Queensland; 6035 L Cpl John Andrew Bannerman from Laidley, Queensland; 6711 L Cpl Percy Henwood Renfrey from Mitcham, South Australia; 428 L Cpl Frank Osman Gowing Tate from Moonee Ponds, Victoria; 426 L Cpl Francis William Ogg from Haberfield, NSW (killed in action in France on 8 August 1918); 466 L Cpl Ralph Handley from Rockhampton, Queensland; and 537 L Cpl Harry Thomas Burtenshaw from Cootamundra, NSW. Middle row: 510 Corporal (Cpl) Edwin Oliver Gordon Milne from South Yarra, Victoria; 2779 Cpl Henry August Becker from Killarney, Queensland; 6275 Cpl William Thomas Clarke MM from Dalby, Queensland; 373 Sergeant (Sgt) Nesbitt Boyd Irwin from Balmain, NSW; 371 Sgt Leslie Ernest Hudson from Yass, NSW; 411B Sgt Hedley James Atkins from North Sydney, NSW; 128 Company Sergeant Major (CSM) Robert Ireland Robb from Enfield, NSW; 125 Sgt Charles Samuel Taylor from Ryde, NSW; 417 Sgt Charles Ernest Eisenhuth from Willbriggie, NSW; 3187 Sgt Mario McCarthy MSM from Wilston, Queensland; 426 Cpl Alfred Ernest Sinclair from Leichhardt, NSW; 420A Cpl Frederick Maurice Milton Kimber from Annandale, NSW; 546 L Cpl Kenneth John Jerome from Goodooga, NSW (partially obscured by Kimber and Easy); and 413 L Cpl Edmund Sydney George Easy from Haberfield, NSW. Front row: Lieutenant (Lt) Frederick Thompson from Narrogin, Western Australia; Lt Robert Lawrence Walker from Marrickville, NSW; Lt Cecil Spencer Ross from Marrickville; Capt David Adie Whitehead MC from Mosman, NSW; Lt Temple Graham from South Penrith, NSW; and Lt Ralph Bath Coleman from Waverley, NSW.

Related information