A Squadron, New South Wales Mounted Infantry

Unit New South Wales contingents
Battle Honour South Africa 1899-1902
Commanding Officer South Africa 1899-1902
Decorations 1 CB; 1 DSO; 3 DCM
Conflict South Africa, 1899-1902 (Boer War)
  • Official records of the Australian military contingents to the war in South Africa(Melbourne : A.J. Mullett, Govt. Printer, 1911)
  • Wilcox, Craig, Australia's Boer War : the war in South Africa, 1899-1902(Melbourne : Oxford University Press, 2002)
Category Unit
Conflict South Africa, 1899-1902 (Boer War)
Unit hierarchy

"A" Squadron was the first draft from the New South Wales Mounted Rifles to be sent as part of the colony's first contingent to South Africa. A Squadron was raised as a mounted rifle squadron, and it initially consisted of four officers and 100 other ranks, described as "especially smart men; good shots and daring riders", with a 104 horses.

The squadron left Sydney on 3 November 1899, on board the transport ship Aberdeen, with the New South Wales Infantry Company. Aberdeen reached Cape Town, South Africa, on 6 December and disembarked the next day. Shortly after their departure, another draft of 25 sergeants and men, and 25 horses, reinforced the squadron. While in South Africa, A Squadron was also joined by a medical officer and another six men who enrolled in the unit.

Upon its arrival in South Africa, the New South Wales Infantry Company was converted to mounted rifle squadron. In March 1900, A Squadron and the New South Wales Infantry Company, subsequently named E Squadron, were absorbed into the 1st Regiment, New South Wales Mounted Rifles, which had been sent to South Africa as part of the second contingent from New South Wales.

After a year of service in South Africa, operating in the north-west Cape Colony, the Free State, and the Transvaal, A and E Squadrons returned to Australia with the rest of the regiment on board the transport Orient. Orient left Cape Town on 13 December 1900 and reached Sydney via Albany and Melbourne. The squadrons disembarked on 8 January 1901.

Related information