Peninsula in south-east Asia comprising west Malaysia and the south-west of Thailand; a range of mountains extends almost entire length.

After the Second World War the nine Malayan states and the British settlements of Penang and Malacca federated to became the Federation of Malaya, which became a British protectorate. In 1963 Malaya became the independent Federation of Malaysia.

Related information