2020 Napier Waller Art Prize

The health and safety of our visitors, veteran community, staff, volunteers and other stakeholders is a top priority for the Australian War Memorial. These are challenging and uncertain times. We believe art and creativity can play an important role in providing respite and fostering resilience during difficult times. With this in mind, the Napier Waller Art Prize will go ahead in 2020. Entries open on Monday 20 April 2020 and close midnight Sunday 21 June 2020. Please refer to Terms and Conditions.

We are closely monitoring developments related to the COVID-19 coronavirus, and will continue to follow advice from the federal government and local health authorities. We request that all entrants in the Napier Waller Art Prize follow advice from the federal government and local health authorities when preparing their entries.

The 2020 Napier Waller Art Prize is open to current and former service personnel in the Australian Defence Force. The prize encourages artistic excellence, promotes the transformative power of creativity, and raises awareness of the experiences and talent of service personnel. For more information, click here.

Important information


The Memorial invites entries in all visual art mediums, including (but not limited to) painting, photography, printmaking, drawing, sculpture, digital, decorative, and installation. The work must not exceed 2 x 2 x 2 metres and must have been completed in the 24 months prior to submission. There is no theme for the award, and entries do not have to address military or service topics. Entries using diverse artistic media and original concepts are encouraged.


The winner of the 2020 Napier Wall Art Prize will be announced at the Australian War Memorial and receive:

  • $10,000 cash prize 
  • A two-week research residency in the Art Section of the Memorial
  • A mentoring day with a leading Australian artist

The winning artwork will also enter the National Collection

Highly Commended

Highly commended works will be displayed at the Australian War Memorial. A winning artwork will be chosen by a panel of judges.


Finalists’ works are displayed on the Australian War Memorial’s website for the general public to vote for the People’s Choice award, the winner of which will receive $5,000. The winner of the People’s Choice vote will be announced at the Australian War Memorial.

Key dates

Entries open on Monday 20 April and close midnight Sunday 21 June 2020. Only online entries will be accepted.

An online exhibition of shortlisted entries will be featured on the Memorial’s website from 17 August 2020.

Online voting for the People’s Choice award will open on 17 August and close on 20 September 2020. (Please note that the closing date may change.)

The winning entry and People's Choice award will be announced at the Australian War Memorial on 24 September 2020. (Please note that this date may change.)

Highly commended works and the winning work will be exhibited at the Memorial from 25 September to 15 November 2020. (Please note that these dates may change.)

Entrants can download a resources list below that explains how to measure, photograph, and document their work.

    For any enquires about the 2020 Napier Waller Art Prize, please email: nwap@awm.gov.au.

    We appreciate all submissions to the Napier Waller Art Prize. If you or someone you know experiences personal difficulties with participation in this award, help is available at Defence Health, Beyond Blue, or Lifeline.

    Help is also available from: